Gate Openers Direct
DoorKing 6004-380 Swing Gate Operator | Column Mount
$1,039.00; page shows struck-through $1,976.00Checked Oct 9, 2026
We may be paid when you use partner links. Who pays us never changes what we show. How we make money
Guide: driveway gate openers
Updated October 10, 2026
The opener, the install and the safety rules that decide what a quote must include. Listed prices from three stores, with each source.
Store pages read Oct 9, 2026; HomeAdvisor's guide updated Jun 17, 2026. See source

Gate Openers Direct
$1,039.00; page shows struck-through $1,976.00Checked Oct 9, 2026
Gate Openers Direct
$1,359.00; page shows struck-through $2,224.80Checked Oct 9, 2026
Gate Openers Direct
$1,594.00; page shows struck-through $2,584.00Checked Oct 9, 2026
| If you are asking | Start with | Link |
|---|---|---|
| A single swing gate under 12 feet? | Kit-style openers list near $339 to $562 | See prices |
| A long or heavy slide gate? | Slide kits list at $1,594 to $2,271 | See prices |
| Paying someone to install? | The labor lines HomeAdvisor and Angi publish | See labor |
| Wondering about safety sensors? | What UL 325 requires, and what to check in the kit | Read the rules |
| Need an electrician for the power? | Hourly rates and service calls | Electrical costs |
A gate opener job has the hardware, the work to mount and wire it, and the power to the gate. HomeAdvisor puts a whole automatic driveway gate, gate included, at $2,500 to $5,000 with an average of $3,160, and says a gate installer's labor typically runs $30 to $80 per hour with an electrician at $50 to $100 per hour if wiring is needed1. Angi gives $2,380 to $8,000 for the same kind of job and $50 to $150 per hour for labor2.
Those ranges include the gate. The openers below are the motor, control board and, in the kits, the remotes and safety sensors. Neither guide publishes a labor-only price for fitting one opener to a gate you already own, so this page gives the hourly lines and does not invent a total.
Residential swing and slide openers by store. Gate Openers Direct's pages show a higher struck-through price beside the listed one; Mighty Mule and USAutomatic showed one price.
| Opener | Type | Size and weight the page states | Listed price | Also shown on the page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gate Openers Direct | ||||
| DoorKing 6004-3805See prices | Single swing, column mount, 24 V DC | Not stated by the source | $1,039.00 | $1,976.00 struck through |
| FAAC 415 high voltage6See prices | Single swing, 120 V AC | Not stated by the source | $1,359.00 | $2,224.80 struck through |
| USAutomatic Ranger HD1 kit7See prices | Single swing, AC charger | Gates up to 16 ft | $1,399.00 | $2,015.00 struck through |
| USAutomatic Ranger HD2 kit8See prices | Dual swing, AC charger | Not stated by the source | $2,099.00 | $3,199.00 struck through |
| RamSet RAM 10009See prices | Slide, chain drive, 1/2 hp | Up to 1000 lbs and 45 ft | $1,594.00 | $2,584.00 struck through |
| USAutomatic Patriot RSL solar kit10See prices | Slide, solar charged | 32 ft of travel and 800 lbs | $2,199.00 | $3,012.00 struck through |
| Mighty Mule | ||||
| MM271 single13 | Single swing | Up to 12 ft or 300 lbs | $339.00 | Not stated by the source |
| MM571 smart single13 | Single swing | Up to 18 ft or 850 lbs | $562.00 | Not stated by the source |
| MM272 dual13 | Dual swing | Up to 12 ft or 300 lbs per leaf | $639.00 | Not stated by the source |
| MM572 smart dual13 | Dual swing | Not stated by the source | $879.00 | Not stated by the source |
| USAutomatic store | ||||
| Patriot RSL, AC charged kit14 | Slide, AC charged | Not stated by the source | $2,188.34 | Not stated by the source |
| Patriot RSL, solar charged kit14 | Slide, solar charged | Not stated by the source | $2,270.56 | Not stated by the source |
Prices before tax and freight, read October 9, 2026. Blank cells mean the page did not state it. Home Depot and Lowe's pages could not be opened from our build machine that day, so they are not listed.
Two cost guides publish these lines. They overlap, so add the ones that match your job and do not sum the table.
| Line | Published figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Whole automatic driveway gate, installed1 | $2,500 to $5,000; average $3,160 | HomeAdvisor |
| Automatic swing gate, including the gate1 | $840 to $6,000, plus up to $80 per hour for labor | HomeAdvisor |
| Automatic sliding gate, including the gate1 | $700 to $4,080; labor up to $80 per hour | HomeAdvisor |
| Gate installer labor1 | $30 to $80 per hour | HomeAdvisor |
| Electrician for the power and wiring1 | $50 to $100 per hour | HomeAdvisor |
| Whole automatic gate installation2 | $2,380 to $8,000 | Angi |
| Labor rates2 | $50 to $150 per hour | Angi |
| Permit fees2 | $50 to $300 depending on location | Angi |
HomeAdvisor's guide was updated June 17, 2026 and Angi's September 17, 2026; both were read October 9, 2026. Angi's page also shows $150 to $300 for permit fees in its summary box.
UL 325 is the safety standard for automatic vehicular gate operators. The Door and Access Systems Manufacturers Association describes it as a standard that addresses the automatic operation of garage doors, vehicular gates, louvers and windows, and says an operator must be supplied with, or have provisions for, a minimum of two independent entrapment protection means for each entrapment zone3. DoorKing puts it as at least two entrapment protection devices for each potential area of entrapment in each direction of travel, and says external devices are required or the operator will not run4.
What that means for a quote. The sensors are part of the price. Gate Openers Direct's RAM 1000 page makes the closing safety beams a required choice, and adds $135 to $225 if you do not already own UL325 beams9. Its Ranger HD kits list a UL monitored IR safety beam, and the Patriot RSL solar kit lists two sets of UL monitored photo eyes7810. Ask any installer or store what sensors are in the price and where each one goes.
Follow the maker's manual. DASMA says it is essential that dealers and installers follow all instructions provided by the operator manufacturer3. Gate Openers Direct's own UL 325 page adds that a swing gate needs two external sensors unless there is no entrapment risk in one direction12.
The two cost guides do not agree on how firmly permits apply. Angi says most municipalities require permits for automatic gate installation, particularly when electrical work or structural changes are involved, and puts fees at $50 to $3002. HomeAdvisor lists special permits among the things that can lengthen the timeline, and does not say which jobs need one1. Neither source covers your address. Ask your city or county building department before you buy.
HomeAdvisor adds that many localities require gates to have an override that lets first responders in, and advises checking with local fire and emergency services before the design is final1.
Six openers that were listed as in stock on October 9. Prices, limits and kit contents are from each product page.
Good for a residential swing or slide opener sold as a kit
Also on Gate Openers Direct's site
Step 4
Gate installers run $30 to $80 per hour and electricians $50 to $100 in HomeAdvisor's guide1.
Listed prices on October 9 ran from $339 for a Mighty Mule single swing opener to $2,270.56 for a solar slide kit1314. Installed, HomeAdvisor puts a whole automatic gate at $2,500 to $5,0001.
Mighty Mule says its openers are engineered for easy installation without professional assistance13. Whoever installs one, the UL 325 sensors and the maker's instructions still apply3.
At least two entrapment protection devices for each potential area of entrapment in each direction of travel4.
Angi says most municipalities require one for automatic gate installation, and HomeAdvisor lists special permits as something that can add time12. Your building department has the answer for your address.
Not at Gate Openers Direct if it is an electrical or electronic part, and refund requests must come before the order ships11. Other stores set their own terms.
We may be paid when you use partner links on this page.
Prices are what each store's page listed on October 9, 2026, before tax and freight. Store prices change often; the store's own page at checkout is the final word on price, stock and terms.
Installation and permit figures are national ranges from the sources named on this page. FixLine Local does not sell gate openers, does not install them and does not pass your details to anyone. Each button opens the store's own site.