Guide: hiring a pro
Before you hire: what three state contractor boards say
California, Arizona and Washington publish plain advice for homeowners. Much of it is the same; some of it is law.
- 3 bids
- Written, for the same scope: all three boards advise it
- 10%
- California's cap on a down payment, or $1,000 if less
State contractor board pages, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

On this page
Where this advice comes from
This guide summarizes consumer pages from the California Contractors State License Board, the Arizona Registrar of Contractors and the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries, read on October 2, 2026134.
It is general information, not legal advice. Rules differ by state and by trade; check your own state's contractor board before you sign.
Advice all three agree on
Check the license yourself. California says every contractor ad must show the state license number and offers an online license check1. Arizona says to review the contractor's license record and make sure the license class covers the work in the contract3. Washington's verification tool shows whether a contractor has an active license, a bond and insurance, and any license history4.
Get at least three written bids. California asks for three written bids on identical plans and scope1; Arizona and Washington say the same34. California warns that an abnormally low bid can signal mistakes or poor work1.
Put everything in the contract. Arizona lists price, who obtains building permits, a payment or draw schedule and how change orders work, and says change orders must be signed by both parties3.
State by state
| Topic | California | Arizona | Washington |
|---|---|---|---|
| Written contract2 | Required for home improvement projects over $500 in labor and materials | Advised, with permits, payment schedule and change orders spelled out | Advised; make sure you understand the terms |
| Down payment2 | Never more than 10 percent of the price or $1,000, whichever is less | Do not let payments get ahead of the work; never pay in cash | Not stated by the source |
| Cancel after signing2 | Within three days, in writing, mailed before midnight of the third day | Not stated by the source | Not stated by the source |
| If things go wrong3 | Not stated by the source | Complaint within two years; Recovery Fund up to $30,000 per residential owner | Homeowner Recovery Fund for eligible homeowners; consider a performance bond on larger jobs |
| Source | CSLB contracts pageRead Oct 2, 2026 | Arizona ROC, Before You HireRead Oct 2, 2026 | Washington L&I, Hiring a ContractorRead Oct 2, 2026 |
Not stated means the page we read did not cover it, not that no rule exists.
Door-to-door offers
Arizona's Registrar warns about traveling crews that go door to door offering cheap roofing, painting and driveway paving, sometimes with leftover materials, and often targeting older homeowners. Its advice: avoid door-to-door solicitors, check the license with the Registrar, and get several bids and references3.
Arizona also notes that an ad saying a company is licensed or bonded does not make it so, and that the number you call may be answered by an out-of-state telemarketer. The license record is the only sure check3.
A short checklist
Step 1
Look up the license
On your state board's site, by the number in the ad or on the truck.
Step 2
Collect three written bids
Same scope for each, so they compare.
Step 3
Read the contract
Price, schedule, permits, payment steps, cleanup, change orders.
Step 4
Pay by check or card, never cash
And keep payments behind the work done.
About this page
We do not earn anything from your quotes or sign-ups today. Every partner link is a plain link to the partner's own site, without a referral code. We may join partners' referral programs in the future, and this notice will say so before that changes.
Cost figures are national ranges published by the sources named on each page, on the date we read them. Your price depends on your home, your area and the pro. The partner's or pro's own page and written quote are the final word on price, coverage and terms.
FixLine Local does not do repairs, does not employ or inspect pros, and does not pass your details to anyone. Each button opens the partner's own site.





